Advisory Board

UGA Marine Extension and Georgia Sea Grant’s Advisory Board provides guidance on significant and emerging coastal issues.

Role of the Advisory Board

To ground coastal decision-making in the best available scientific knowledge and understanding, and prepare Georgians to be wise stewards of our coastal environment, Marine Extension and Georgia Sea Grant draws upon a diverse array of stakeholders and partners for knowledge, advice, and guidance.

The Advisory Board provides input on emerging research needs, opportunities and priorities in coastal Georgia, offers advice on the strategic planning process, helps create new connections, collaborations and partnerships, and educates and informs local, state and national decision-makers on the importance and relevance of our research, extension and education programs.

Advisory Board Members

Clark Alexander
Skidaway Institute of Oceanography
Email: clark.alexander@skio.uga.edu

Jill Andrews
Georgia Dept of Natural Resources, Coastal Resources Division
Email: Jill.andrews@dnr.ga.gov

Maurice Bailey
Save our Legacy Yourself
Email: maurice@saveourlegacyourself.org

Dionne Hoskins-Brown
Savannah State University/ NOAA
Email: hoskins@savannahstate.edu

Carl Bergmann
University of Georgia
Email: cberg@ccrc.uga.edu

Ben Carswell
Carl Vinson Institute of Government
Email: bcars@uga.edu

Tim Davis
Chatham County Extension Coordinator
Email: timdavis@uga.edu

LaSonia McIntosh Davis
E.L. McIntosh & Son Seafood
Email: lasoniadavis72@gmail.com

Bill Demmond
Inland Seafood
Email: Bill.demmond@inlandseafood.com

Cheryl Hargrove
Hargrove International, Inc.
Email: cheryl@hargroveinternational.com

Kristafer Howard
Ogeechee Riverkeeper
Email: kris@ogeecheeriverkeeper.org

Dr. Rob McDowell
Georgia State University
Email: rmcdowell@gsu.edu

Charles McMillan
Georgia Conservancy
Email: cmcmillan@gaconservancy.org

Ruth McMullin
Marine Education Volunteer
Email: rrmcmullin@aya.yale.edu

Stan Rogers
Gray’s Reef National Marine Sanctuary
Email: Stan.Rogers@noaa.gov

Doug Samson
Sapelo Island NERR
Email: doug.samson@dnr.ga.gov

Sandy Shepherd
Good Shepherd Consulting Services
Email: goodshepherdconsulting@gmail.com

Susan Shipman
Former Director, Georgia DNR Coastal Resources Division
Email: susanshipman920@gmail.com

Matt Sitkowski
The Weather Channel
Email: matt.sitkowski@weathergroup.com

Beth Webster
Marine Education Volunteer
Email: elizabeth.renalds@yahoo.com

Kim Morris-Zarneke
DNR Wildlife Resources Division
Email: kim.morris-zarneke@dnr.ga.gov
Stay connected to the coast. Subscribe to our newsletter today!